Vote Dave Dowling Oct 15

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gm5_CTbJ-G0
Good evening everyone,

I Dave Dowling, must thank you all for taking the time out of your busy schedual to come down here and listen to all us fringe Candidates. . . . I, Dave Dowling, must ask you all, What is a fringe Candidate?  

Imagine a Candidate standing here saying that they did not pay a big enough fee, and that they did not gather enough signatures to stand here. Imagine that same Candidate having a platform of those fees and signatures needed by a Candidate needs to stand in elections must be increased until only property developers, hotel owners and bankers could afford to stand in elections.

Now, that would be a fringe candidate.

Since the invention of Democracy, elections have been used to not only stand as a Candidate, but to bring forth issues that the government and media are ignoring, or issues that are important to the person standing as a Candidate. Everyone one of you should have the right to stand in an election if you so choose to do so. Yet some, some want to make it so you can not. They do not stand up here as a Candidate and say so, for they know, they would not only get laughed out of Edmonton, but out of every democracy on the planet.   It’s easy to label someone as I, Dave Dowling, a fringe Candidate, but it is another matter to prove it so.  If I Dave Dowling am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE because I Dave Dowling believe the media should be impartial during elections then I Dave Dowling, am Glad for that Label.  Am I, Dave Dowling been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE, because I Dave Dowling am on social assistance? If so, then I, Dave Dowling, am  once again, Glad to accept that label. And if I , DAVE DOWLING, am been called a FRINGE CANDIDATE because of my style of clothing, then I am HAPPY to be labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE.Or if I Dave Dowling am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE because I Dave Dowling am disabled, then again I, Dave Dowling am not only happy, but PROUD to be labelled so! 

If I, Dave Dowling , am been labelled a fringe Candidate, because I, Dave Dowling, wish to cut, councils outrageous salaries, then I, Dave Dowling, am happy to accept that label.

If I, Dave Dowling am labelled a fringe candidate because I am the first candidate to have a virtual office, with a web link to the David Suzuki foundation and other such sites then once again, I am very glad to have that label bestowed upon me.  And if I Dave Dowling am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE, because I Dave Dowling believe police should be out solving crime, instead of hanging in schools, wanting and waiting to lock your children up in jail for having the wrong plant in their pocket, then I Dave Dowling am very happy to be labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE. Or if I Dave Dowling am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE because I Dave Dowling am campaigning with a campaign that respects the environment and the overtaxed voter then I Dave Dowling am happy to be labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE. If I am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE because I am Campaigning the way election campaigning reform should make is so this is the way Candidates should campaign, , no signs, less than $20 US as a campaign budget, no city paid employees doing my work, then again, I am happy to be labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE And if I am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE, because I believe that the roads should be safe to drive on, and that issues like tent city should come before 21 % wage increases for council, then again, I am happy to be labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE.  

If I Dave Dowling am having that label of FRINGE CANDIDATE bestowed upon me, for my believe that council should be listening to the people of Edmonton, and be putting issues like $13,000 raises, $88 million dollar art galleries and any expensive non core service white elephant project to a ballot vote, then I Dave Dowling am very happy to have that label.

 If I, Dave Dowling, am been called fringe because I Dave Dowling believe in cost effective budgeting instead of tax and spend or spend and tax, once again I Dave Dowling will be happy to accept that label.  And if I Dave Dowling am been labelled a FRINGE CANDIDATE because I Dave Dowling know that leadership is the issue this election, and that I Dave Dowling am standing for Mayor of Edmonton, that would be an excellent Mayor of Edmonton, then I DAVE DOWLING once again  am Happy to accept that Label . Anyone. Anyone here is capable of been a leader, for Leaders. . .  come from all walks of life, one does not have to be rich to be a political leader. Nor does one have to be poor to be a political leader. To be a Political leader, one must lead in politics. A leader in politics, a political leader, with vision for the city, a platform there for months, would be one whose copied, emulated, whose ideas rise to the top to influence everything for the better, having the political will power to be leading the way where others follow.   A Leader is one who leads by serving all the people, not just the 16 % that voted that leader in. 

I, Dave Dowling have been Campaigning in an environmental friendly way with no signs, no harm to the environment due to campaigning,  in my last four of five elections now. and I noticed driving down here that there seams to be  less elections signs this election. I, Dave Dowling have been campaigning with respect for the voter, not asking the overtaxed voter for money, and for five elections now, I have done so, and I thank Peter, and anyone else up here for also doing so this election. I Dave Dowling have put on my web blog, all the issues of leadership, and ways to solve them, almost a year before the election, and I see, that except for the odd ideas like where the power lines should be, these issues of Leadership that were raised on my web blog months ago are the issues been discussed here today.

 

I Dave Dowling, believe this is why some will fling that label of FRINGE CANDIDATE around, like its free food for the poor, or tents for the homeless, not because that label is truly deserved, but because some do not want you realizing that a Leader is standing before you ready to serve. Working for you the people of Edmonton. That is what political Leadership is all about, and I, Dave Dowling am a Candidate standing for Mayor of Edmonton!

 

I would now like you to welcome Dustin Becker, Candidate for Mayor of Edmonton.

        

